Questions

I have reached the stage in life where I ask more questions without answers to the things that affect life. I have seen the mighty fall, I also saw the weak and feeble soar to great heights. For many, the decisions they made and their choice of actions were their cornerstones of greatness or their suicidal stool of downfall.
I have often pondered what can make one excellent. Could it be the passion to achieve greatness, or the vision to achieve greatness? Believe me when I say one cannot go without the other. I have come to understand that the purpose for our existence lies in the faith we have and the way we choose to live, determines our fate in life. A friend once told me my education wouldn’t make the right decisions for me, but if I’m interested in finding my answers, a battle of moral internalisation and the continuous guard for cultural etiquette can lead to a path of self-realisation and achievement. At this point, I was left with more thoughts and questions.
After all the struggle, what is our primary goal in life? What are we meant to achieve? How does one go up and never drop? Are the laws guiding gravity similar to the principles of life that when one goes up, he shall surely come down? Am I afraid that the path I have chosen in life will be my destruction? If so what will be my alternative route? Am I just in love? Am I burdened by my future? Are we entwined to meet people or can fate usually distorted? Is there really fate?
So many questions yet so little the answers. Some individuals who were called great once said;
“You were put on this earth to achieve your greatest self, to live out your purpose, and to do it courageously.”
― Steve Maraboli, Life, the Truth, and Being Free
“It is not great men who change the world, but weak men in the hands of a great God.” ― Brother Yun, The Heavenly Man: The Remarkable True Story of Chinese Christian Brother Yun
“Men have called me mad; but the question is not yet settled, whether madness is or is not the loftiest intelligence– whether much that is glorious– whether all that is profound– does not spring from disease of thought– from moods of mind exalted at the expense of the general intellect.”
― Edgar Allan Poe, Complete Tales and Poems
“The symbol of drama, a symphony, or dance is useful to correct a particular absurdity which may arise if we talk too much of God planning and creating the world for good and then being frustrated by the free will of the creatures. This may raise the ridiculous idea that the Fall to God by surprise and upset His plan, or else – more ridiculous still – that God planned the whole thing for conditions which, He well knew, were never going to be realised. In fact, of course, God saw the crucifixion in the act of creating the first nebulae. The world is a dance in which good, descending from God, is disturbed by evil arising from the creatures, and the resulting conflict is resolved by God’s own assumption of the suffering nature which evil produces.”
― C.S. Lewis, The Problem of Pain

Leave a comment